Writing Space Envy

Author Laura Resau's writing trailer-- I want one just like it!

It’s been too long since I’ve posted, especially since I only just recently created my new blog site!  So in honor of my new space here, I am dedicating this post to my “in my dreams” future writing space.

Besides starting a new job teaching preschool  and juggling that with mommying and writing, I’ve been going through major writing space withdrawl.  I lost my office area to my two boys, who share one room and needed a playroom  of sorts so that they aren’t on top of each other all the time when they play upstairs.  (Of course, lately that room has been looking more like a closet than a playroom, but that’s another post altogether…)

Anyway, my husband and I have been toying with the idea of creating an outdoor office space within a former shed for me in the backyard, but after perusing an antique fair in Oregon City yesterday, I stumbled upon a much better plan–  A VINTAGE TRAILER!!  There happened to be one at the fair, and after touring it, I realized that this was just what I needed for my new writing space.  Just think– the retro colors, the quirkiness of a kitchen in your office, being able to make  tea, read a book, and dream inside a sleek silver canned-ham shaped writer’s haven!

I am in love with this idea.  A ten or twelve foot trailer would be the perfect size for our backyard, decorated part retro, part French gypsy caravan (think Chocolat!)  Looking up vintage trailers, I even stumbled upon some gypsy inspiration here.

And apparently, I am not the only writer who loves this idea.  Check out this website!

http://lauraresau.blogspot.com/2010/07/trailer-tour-at-long-last.html

This writer actually did it!   She stumbled upon a trailer and bought one on a whim before her baby was born and booted her out of her writing space.

This dream, of course, won’t happen for quite a while for me, a couple of years even, but I think I am going to hang up a picture of a vintage trailer above my desk in my bedroom to help inspire me to keep writing.  Someday, my trailer will come!

Anyone else out there have writing space envy? Or are you happy with your space?

2 Responses to “Writing Space Envy”


  1. 1 Amber Keyser August 31, 2010 at 6:39 am

    I keep threatening to take over my kids’ treehouse. Rosanne Parry (Heart of a Shepard) works in one!

  2. 2 Ruth Tenzer Feldman August 31, 2010 at 11:14 am

    I once wrote in a semi-finished room in our unfinished basement. Glued pink wallpaper to one wall and slapped crazy paints on the other. No one bothered to come downstairs–thanks to the spiders I befriended!


Leave a Reply

Visit My Website

www.nicolemarieschreiber.com

"I am not at all in a humor for writing; I must write on till I am."- Jane Austen

Currently Reading

Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


