Tuesday Tea: The Grimm Legacy

Spinning off some other blogs tradition of having virtual “tea” and talking about books, I’m going to try and start a Tuesday Tea where I’ll talk about a book I’m currently reading and choose a tea that best goes with it just for fun.  This won’t necessarily be a book review post, but more like a discussion.

So today’s book is actually one I just finished yesterday, The Grimm Legacy by Polly Shulman.  It’s three days late to the library, but I HAD to finish it, that’s how much I enjoyed it.

This book was right up my alley– fairy tales, a library/museum/antiques (I’m a sucker for From the Mixed Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler, anything vintage or antique, and am always creatively  inspired by going to museums), action, mystery, and a little romance reminiscent of Pride and Prejudice.  What’s funny is that a post on the SurLaLune Fairy Tale blog a while back talked about an elementary school class who created a fairy tale museum in their room, creating Cinderella’s glass slippers, the pea from The Princess and the Pea, Snow White’s mirror, and so forth. Being a teacher, I thought that the idea was incredibly clever, so I stored it in the back of my mind (as well as bookmarked it) for future use.  But now I’m kicking myself for not even thinking of it as a story idea!  It is really genius, and I love what Polly Shulman did with it.

The story begins with sixteen-year-old Elizabeth Rew, who takes a job at the New York Circulating Material Repository, a library/museum of sorts that holds everything from Marie Antoinette’s wig to 18th century tea sets (hey, perfect for this post!)  It also holds The Grimm Collection, which are the magical items found within all of the Grimm fairy tales.  (On a side note, I also loved the references to the Wells Bequest and its time machine!  So cool!)  You’ll have to read the rest to find out what happens!

Now, as for the perfect tea to drink while reading this tale, I found these delightful tea bags online that can hold a floral herbal blend, perhaps like Angel Falls Mist, which I think would be appropriate for the fairy tale references in the book.

Happy Reading!

0 Responses to “Tuesday Tea: The Grimm Legacy”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Visit My Website

www.nicolemarieschreiber.com

"I am not at all in a humor for writing; I must write on till I am."- Jane Austen

Currently Reading

Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


