More Miniature Rooms

Here are more miniature rooms that I have found inspiring either seeing them in person or online.  Enjoy!

Colleen Moore’s Fairy Castle at the Museum of Science and Industry in Chicago

Here is the dollhouse that I grew up with!  I clearly remember the fairy castle being my absolute favorite exhibit in the Museum of Science and Industry and visiting it over and over as a child.  I just love its beauty  and exquisiteness.  This is where I would want to find a magic  key so that I could shrink down and not only explore the castle’s chambers, but move in!

This dollhouse is an antique from the Netherlands.  The website is in Dutch, but you could use Google translator to read it in English.  I love seeing historic miniatures from other countries.

Look at this closeup of one of the rooms below.

So charming!  I love the little blue and white tiles in the kitchen and the wee babe in her highchair.  You can see more pictures at the website here.

This one is also a Dutch dollhouse from the Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam.  It’s a cabinet house from the seventeenth century.  Wow!  These houses were a hobby for  ladies of wealth, not for children, but I bet you anything that the children of the elite just about drooled over them!  I know I would have given anything to play  with one of these.   Here is a closeup of the kitchen (why I am focusing on kitchen interiors, I don’t know, but I love the china in here.)

You can find out more information in English and see more pictures here.

Titania’s Palace

On our family trip to Denmark two years ago, we were unable to visit Egeskov Slot due to it being closed for the season, which is too bad because this lovely dollhouse lay inside!  Maybe someday we will see it in person as well as the gorgeous fairy castle itself.

Finally, here is a scene from another cabinet house from the Victoria and Albert’s Museum of Childhood.  This website has fantastic pictures of antique dollhouses that are in their collection.  What I love about this exact picture, though the house is from 1835, is that the dolls remind me of the characters from Little Women by Louisa May Alcott.

If anyone is dying to see more miniature rooms/homes, check out this site and let your imagination fly.

2 Responses to “More Miniature Rooms”


  1. 1 John August 3, 2012 at 8:14 pm

    Great Rooms! I’ve always wanted to see Titiana’s Palace, too. Have you seen the Thorne Rooms (since you’re from Chicago)?


Leave a Reply

Visit My Website

www.nicolemarieschreiber.com

"I am not at all in a humor for writing; I must write on till I am."- Jane Austen

Currently Reading

Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


