Tuesday Tea: Eyes Like Stars

Oh my… Eyes Like Stars: Theatre Illuminata, Act I by Lisa Mantchev was a DELICIOUS read!  I am still salivating over it!

The story stars Beatrice Shakespeare Smith as a girl who was supposedly left on the doorstep of the Theatre Illuminata as a babe and has grown up amidst its glorious stage– where every play that has ever existed actually lives and breathes.  There are players from Hamlet mixing with players from The Man of La Mancha and so on.  It’s a complete blend of theatricalness, fairies and fantasy, and modern day fiestiness.  I love how the aura of the Theatre Illuminata is pure art nouveau, yet the time period is definitely modern. What a blend!  (And I REALLY want Beatrice’s blue locks.  If only I had the guts to do it…)

Beatrice is about to be thrown out of the theatre due to her latest escapades that have thrown the theatre for a loop, yet she is given one more chance by the theatre manager– She may direct her own production of Hamlet, setting it during the Egyptian era, and the play must garner a sellout as well as receive a standing ovation.  If Beatrice accomplishes this, then she may stay in the only home she has ever known.  Of course, there is also a love triangle which is intriguing as well (an “air spirit” versus a pirate!)  I definitely recommend this book.

And as for your tea while reading the book, this may be the perfect blend.

Shakespeare English Breakfast tea

Of course, one would need the right teapot as well.

Romeo and Juliet teapot

Happy reading!

1 Response to “Tuesday Tea: Eyes Like Stars”


  1. 1 Amber Keyser September 15, 2010 at 9:29 am

    I’ll add it to my reading list for sure (with the tea)!


Leave a Reply

Visit My Website

www.nicolemarieschreiber.com

"I am not at all in a humor for writing; I must write on till I am."- Jane Austen

Currently Reading

Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


