Sleeping Beauty by the Oregon Ballet Theater

 

sleepingbeauty.JPG

This past Thursday I was privileged to see the Oregon Ballet Theater’s production of “Sleeping Beauty.”  The rich, lavish backdrops transported me to what felt like the realm of Louis XVI and his court, and I was hooked immediately.  I actually cried right before the intermission from the beauty and grandeur of the dancing, costumes, and scenery.  It has been a long time since I have seen a ballet production by myself.  Before children, I used to go quite a bit when accompanying my husband on business trips around the country.  My favorite had been “Romeo and Juliet” in NYC.  But now I feel like this production is my all time favorite.

I love to dance and tried ballet when I was younger, but my parents unfortunately pulled me out.  I still wish to take lessons as an adult someday.  This is the book that started my love for ballet.

 

 

I checked this book out over and over as a child from my elementary school’s library, until my parents finally bought my own copy for me for Christmas one year.  I still have it, too.  How I wanted so badly to be Marie in the NYC Ballet’s Nutcracker and wear that party scene dress and the crown later after Marie defeats the Mouse King!  Okay, I guess I still do. 🙂

Seeing such beautiful art last Thursday made me feel like creating my own, and I am in such a mood to write and work on my WIP.  Thank goodness I have my Viva Scriva writing retreat in Hood River this weekend to look forward to.

Happy Art-making to all of you!

1 Response to “Sleeping Beauty by the Oregon Ballet Theater”


  1. 1 Amber Keyser October 19, 2010 at 9:02 pm

    I was addicted to that book too!


Leave a Reply

Visit My Website

www.nicolemarieschreiber.com

"I am not at all in a humor for writing; I must write on till I am."- Jane Austen

Currently Reading

Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


