Tuesday Tea: The Princess and the Hound

 

I am still in the midst of reading this week’s Tuesday Tea selection, The Princess and the Hound by Mette Ivie Harrison, but I’m enjoying it so much that I must discuss it over tea!

The story involves a world where “animal magic” is forbidden, and anyone possessing it is burned at the stake.  The main character, Prince George, does possess it, as did his mother before him, but he hides it as best he can for fear of succumbing to the same fate as his mother.  It is hard for George to be away from animals, however, and when he does not speak with or interact with them, he becomes very ill.  The magic is too strong and overtakes him, so he must sneak away from whatever he is doing in order to interact with animals in the wild.

When George is seventeen, he is betrothed to the daughter of a rival kingdom, and goes to visit her there.  Princess Beatrice is treated with ill-regard by her father, and seems to only find solace in her hound, which never leaves her side.  To the princes amazement, the hound acts at times in a way that almost does not seem animal-like, but more human in nature.

This is where I will leave off, so as to not spoil the story.  Plus, I am not even finished with it, yet!  Yet I do love the setting and world-building of this piece as well as the premise.  I am very drawn-in and really care about what will happen to Prince George.

For my tea selection, I feel in the mood for a full-bodied Twinings English Breakfast for some reason, though the story takes place in a fantastical realm (yet feels extremely European).  It may be the hound in the story that makes me feel this way as well.

 

And here is the perfect teapot for a hound lover.

basset hound dog teapot

 

Finally, I found this picture and loved the idea of this dog having afternoon tea!

Happy Reading!

 

 

2 Responses to “Tuesday Tea: The Princess and the Hound”


  1. 1 Deva Fagan October 20, 2010 at 3:07 am

    This book has been on my to-read list for some time. I’m glad you are enjoying it!

    And I love that you do reviews with paired teas! Excellent idea!

  2. 2 Heather Tomlinson October 20, 2010 at 8:51 am

    Nice combo!

    It’s a decaf-Irish Breakfast morning on the boat, getting ready to type type type.

    cheers-
    H


Leave a Reply

Visit My Website

www.nicolemarieschreiber.com

"I am not at all in a humor for writing; I must write on till I am."- Jane Austen

Currently Reading

Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


