Sleep, Eat, Write– Dreaming of Another Viva Scriva Writing Retreat

The weekend before Halloween, I was blessed with going on a writing retreat in Hood River, Oregon, with many members of my critique group, Viva Scriva.  Our group is amazing, in that we have managed to pull off a handful of writing retreats every year for the past two and a half years!  I have written in eastern Oregon at a gorgeous log cabin (twice!), another cabin in Sun River, and now at an adorable turn-of-the-century  bungalow in Hood River.  These retreats are sacred to me, since all I do is sleep in, eat great food that we all take turns preparing for each meal, nibble on dark chocolate, and work on my latest middle grade historical fiction novel without the distractions of a five-year-old, a two-year-old, a husband, a dog, making dinner, doing laundry, etc (Though I do love my family, don’t get me wrong!)  But to get so much concentrated writing time is pure heaven!  (And sleeping in isn’t too shabby, either.)

While writing during a fresh rainstorm on that last Sunday morning, my Scrivas and I were inspired by the loveliest of rainbows.  Fellow Scriva, Amber Keyser, took these pictures for us.

Tonight, I shall dream of my next writing retreat!
2 Responses to “Sleep, Eat, Write– Dreaming of Another Viva Scriva Writing Retreat”


  1. 1 Amber Keyser November 3, 2010 at 2:16 pm

    Yes oh yes… I love the retreats!

  2. 2 Heather Tomlinson November 6, 2010 at 12:38 am

    So glad it was rejuvenating! I felt the same about Writers Day this year–like a mini-retreat in one day. Greg won “Most Promising” in both picture book and MG categories… we can say we knew him when!


Leave a Reply

Visit My Website

www.nicolemarieschreiber.com

"I am not at all in a humor for writing; I must write on till I am."- Jane Austen

Currently Reading

Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


