Poetry Friday: The Snow Fairy

In honor of the delicious snowfall that we had yesterday and its ultimate demise as it has almost all melted, I am dedicating my return to Poetry Friday with a poem about snow.  This is part one of Claude McCay’s “The Snow Fairy.”

The Snow Queen by Debra McFarlane
The Pink Fairy Book
etching with aquatint
190mmx140mm

 

The Snow Fairy

(Part One)

by Claude McCay

 

Throughout the afternoon I watched them there,
Snow-fairies falling, falling from the sky,
Whirling fantastic in the misty air,
Contending fierce for space supremacy.
And they flew down a mightier force at night,
As though in heaven there was revolt and riot,
And they, frail things had taken panic flight
Down to the calm earth seeking peace and quiet.
I went to bed and rose at early dawn
To see them huddled together in a heap,
Each merged into the other upon the lawn,
Worn out by the sharp struggle, fast asleep.
The sun shone brightly on them half the day,
By night they stealthily had stol’n away.

 

(You can read the rest of the poem here.)

 

* Poetry Friday is being hosted by Read, Write, Believe this week.  You can check out all of this week’s poems there.  Happy Reading!

2 Responses to “Poetry Friday: The Snow Fairy”


  1. 1 Sara Lewis Holmes February 26, 2011 at 4:55 am

    As a kid, I devoured all the colors of the Fairy Books. I have The Green Fairy Book on my desk right now. I think all those strange tales and gorgeous images are in my head forever.

    • 2 nicolemarieschreiber March 3, 2011 at 10:47 pm

      I agree. I just love the stories and even the illustrations. Now as an adult, I collect antiquarian fairy tale books, and I have quite a few illustrations framed and up on our walls. I love Anne Anderson, Edmund Dulac, Kay Nielsen, and so many other “Golden Age of Illustration” illustrators. I find a lot of inspiration when I look at their work. Thanks for stopping by!


Leave a Reply

Visit My Website

www.nicolemarieschreiber.com

"I am not at all in a humor for writing; I must write on till I am."- Jane Austen

Currently Reading

Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


