Masterpiece Monday: Historic Libraries

Strahov Monastery library in Prague, Czech Republic-- one of my favorite historic libraries! (When I saw it, it was covered in scaffolding, unfortunately!)

It has been a looong January and February, so I am totally ready for March to begin!  Some of you know that I have been looking into teaching overseas in Europe, and though the dream is still there, my family and I have postponed it for a while.  Applying for teaching positions takes a lot of time, and it has taken away from my blogging (though I have been trying to stay in touch with my WIP), but now that we are staying put for the time being, I want to try to keep my writing blog up once again.

In honor of my fresh start, I am going to try a new Monday series called, “Masterpiece Monday,” where I talk about different types of art that basically inspire my writing.  This series will in no way be any kind of art criticism or have anything to do with art theory.  It will be just my personal opinion about what fills my creative “well.”   Art in all its many forms, from architecture to painting to photography to scribbles by a kindergartner, has always inspired me to create my own art– writing!  Some of my very favorite places to write are even traditional art museums.   As they say, “art begets art.”

So, my masterpiece for this week is, you guessed it, LIBRARIES!  I love historic libraries– the older, the better.  The mix of old architecture and books is so romantic to me.  There is just something about the musty smell, the nooks and crannies, and the dark wood that spells STORY to me.  Magic is definitely hidden somewhere among the stacks! One just has to find it!

There have been many historic libraries in my life that I have loved and have been privileged to visit, including these (some of which I could not find photos of the interiors, but trust me, they are gorgeous):

The Stonington Free Library in Stonington, Connecticut (where we lived for one year)

 

The Mystic and Noank Library in Mystic, Connecticut

The Library of Congress

Trinity College Library in Dublin, Ireland

Bodleian Library in Oxford (famous for Harry Potter fans)

New York Public Library

Concord Free Public Library in Concord, Massachusetts

Currently, I am lucky enough to have a lovely little historic library to write in whenever I go into Portland.  It’s the Crumpacker Family Library, which is situated right next to the Portland Art Museum.  I love the Medieval feel, even though it’s from the 1920’s/30’s!

Crumpacker Family Library in Portland, Oregon (part of the Portland Art Museum)

Let me know if you have any historic libraries that you would like to share!

 

 

 

 

0 Responses to “Masterpiece Monday: Historic Libraries”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Visit My Website

www.nicolemarieschreiber.com

"I am not at all in a humor for writing; I must write on till I am."- Jane Austen

Currently Reading

Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


