Poetry Friday (on Saturday): Lacemaking

I am working hard on my WIP (just finished three and a half hours here at Starbucks, after waking up at 5:30 in the morning to get here!) and before I head back home to have breakfast with “the boys,” I wanted to put up  a late Poetry Friday post.

An important component in my WIP is not only medieval astronomy, but also lacemaking, which was a prominent activity done by females in Flanders in the mid-sixteenth century.  Here is a poem that I found online called “Lacemaker’s Prayer.”  I don’t know who wrote it, but it does come from the website Lacefairy, so perhaps the creator or moderator of that site wrote it.

This week’s Poetry Friday is hosted by The Poem Farm.  Enjoy!

Photo of Ladies in a garden embroidering

 

 

LACEMAKER’S PRAYER

(taken and perhaps written by the creator of the website Lacefairy)

Guide my hands with speed and grace
To weave the intricacies of this lace.
Let the bobbins weave with ease
To create a pattern that will please.

Let there be Love in its creation
And give it Artistry in its inspiration.
May special Care keep the threads from breaking
And give me Energy for its making.

Allow this lace to bring joy and pleasure
And give to others a lifelong treasure.


2 Responses to “Poetry Friday (on Saturday): Lacemaking”


  1. 1 Amy Ludwig VanDerwater April 2, 2011 at 11:40 am

    I am so glad you posted this because I am going to copy it for our children’s bus driver who is a fine tatter and will truly appreciate it. What treasures you must find while doing research. I enjoyed hearing about that as much as the poem. Happy Poetry Month! A.

  2. 2 Debbie November 19, 2011 at 5:11 pm

    Thank you so much for posting this! It is exactly what I need for my Women in the Reformation class! =)


Leave a Reply

Visit My Website

www.nicolemarieschreiber.com

"I am not at all in a humor for writing; I must write on till I am."- Jane Austen

Currently Reading

Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


