Favorite Historical/Fantasy Dance Scenes: A Knight’s Tale

I am in the midst of writing a sixteenth-century harvest festival dance scene in my WIP, and it has gotten me thinking about all of my favorite historical or fantasy genre dance sequences on film.

For some reason, “A Knight’s Tale” came to mind first!

Sir William Thatcher & Lady Jocelyn (A Knight's Tale)

Now, if you haven’t seen this brilliant movie, it is a loose retelling of Chaucer’s The Canterbury  Tales, and it takes many liberties by mixing modern music with a period sensibility.  Of course, the clothing and hairstyles of the female nobility in the film  have always bothered me, but I really, really love the mix of modern and Middle Ages when it comes to the rest of it.  The banquet dance scene is no exception!  Now the dancing is not period-appropriate in any way, but it sure is fun the way it begins with period music and morphs into David Bowie!

You can enjoy a clip of it from youtube here.

0 Responses to “Favorite Historical/Fantasy Dance Scenes: A Knight’s Tale”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Visit My Website

www.nicolemarieschreiber.com

"I am not at all in a humor for writing; I must write on till I am."- Jane Austen

Currently Reading

Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


