Poetry Friday: Henry David Thoreau

Replica of Henry David Thoreau's cabin where he lived and wrote.

I am so glad to be back doing Poetry Friday, and today I would like to choose a poem that was inspired by my recent trip to Concord, Massachusetts (only three days ago…sigh)  We didn’t get to go to Henry David Thoreau’s cabin on this trip, but I have visited it before.  Here is a picture of the inside (all replica) where he did his writing.

The peacefulness of this place looks very appealing to me after a long day of teaching and chasing my three-year-old and six-year-old boys!  I would love to work on my WIP all day in here.  🙂

The poem I have chosen is called, “My Life Has Been the Poem.”  I can completely relate to having to choose between “living life” and taking the time to write.  Of course, one must live life in order to be a great writer, and boy, do I live life with parenting and teaching and volunteering and traveling and cooking and cleaning and so forth.  I am always squeezing out precious minutes in order to write.  It is a delicate balance, and when I feel that balance is out of whack with life taking over, I try to remember that everything that I do in life will add to my writing later.

Living life and writing “the poem” cannot happen at the same time, but one cannot exist without the other.

MY LIFE HAS BEEN THE POEM

by Henry David Thoreau

My life has been the poem

I would have writ, 

But I could not both live

and utter it. 

Today’s Poetry Friday is being hosted by Fomagrams.  Check it out!  🙂

2 Responses to “Poetry Friday: Henry David Thoreau”


  1. 1 Ruth October 15, 2011 at 11:56 am

    Thanks for sharing this. I’m with you in working out that balance!

  2. 2 Joyce October 15, 2011 at 2:26 pm

    A great reminder when we feel life closing in! Thanks for sharing Thoreau’s poem and for the photos.


Leave a Reply

Visit My Website

www.nicolemarieschreiber.com

"I am not at all in a humor for writing; I must write on till I am."- Jane Austen

Currently Reading

Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


