Off to Research in Belgium at the End of the Month!

The Ommegang reenactment in Brussels, Belgium

Yes, it’s true.  I will be flying to Belgium on June 27th to research my book.

And I can’t believe it.

Really.  I can’t.

I am thrilled beyond words about having the chance to really enrich my novel and humbled at the same time.  Through Kickstarter, I’ve been able to connect and talk with some amazing astronomers and scientists, lovers of historical fiction, art enthusiasts, people of Flemish descent, other writers, and people who simply wish to help another struggling artist pursue his/her dream with either words of encouragement, a small pledge, offers of places to stay in Brussels and Bruges, translator services, tour guides, babysitting (from friends and family of course), etc.

Sometimes a writer can wonder what the point is to his/her work.  Will the world really care if this book ever gets finished and published?  I care, and my critique group definitely cares, but after that, sometimes I fall into the trap of feeling like maybe my story just isn’t needed in the world, especially when I have the pressing needs of being a mom, wife, and teacher burying my need to write my story.  But now, I have an additional 36 people who have actually given small donations (on and off Kickstarter.com) and something like an additional 40 + who have offered amazing words of encouragement and emotional support.

Add them together, plus my wonderful critique group, family, close friends, other supportive writers, and you get this blanket of support and encouragement surrounding me on all sides.  I feel like I have my own little cheerleading section, my own line of “story soldiers” ready to stand with me when the going gets tough, when the words won’t come, and life gets in the way.  Ready to say, “You can do it!  We believe in you!  We want this story to be told!”

Wow.

It’s an awesome feeling.  A humbling feeling.

I think we all as writers need our own “cheerleading section” and our own army of “story soldiers.” It doesn’t take many, just a few, to really help us keep going– to make us feel like our stories really matter, and that they deserve to be in the world.

I will try my hardest to make them proud.

2 Responses to “Off to Research in Belgium at the End of the Month!”


  1. 1 laurastanfill June 8, 2012 at 7:49 am

    Congratulations! What an exciting trip, and what an inspiring group of people who are supporting you and your novel. I hope you’ll blog about your adventures when you get home, Nicole!


Leave a Reply

Visit My Website

www.nicolemarieschreiber.com

"I am not at all in a humor for writing; I must write on till I am."- Jane Austen

Currently Reading

Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


