Day Two in Belgium

 Hello everyone!  I have been having some technical difficulties here with my photo uploads, so the posts are going to be a bit delayed.  Here finally are my “Writer-in-the Field” photos from my second day in Brugge on Friday.

 I was able to visit the kind and generous owner of the guesthouse Nuit Blanche, David De Graef.

Image

His home is an amazing example of medieval architecture that was restored back to its period state.

 

I was so excited at the chance to be able to visit his home and learn about not only the history of his house but stories about Brugge during the 1500s as well.  Mr. De Graef is an artist as well and his home and studio are filled with his magnificent works.

Image
Typical medieval hearth in a tradesman’s home.
Image
Here are some other great medieval home details I found while at the house.
Fellow artists talking together.  Even Mr. De Graef’s daughter, Fleur, is an artist who loves to draw!
Image
I commissioned a picture from her for my two boys back home.  The result was a lovely mushroom home for a little dwarf.  🙂
Image
More to come hopefully tomorrow!
0 Responses to “Day Two in Belgium”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Visit My Website

www.nicolemarieschreiber.com

"I am not at all in a humor for writing; I must write on till I am."- Jane Austen

Currently Reading

Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


