Day Three in Belgium

(I have actually just arrived home from my trip, which went very, very fast but was absolutely incredible!  Now I finally have some time to sit and reflect on my days for you a bit more.  Here is a quick overview of Day Three, with more Writer-in-the field photos..)

Now, how long does it take my main character to get from one place to another on foot?

How to open a medieval wooden door.  I didn’t realize that there were so many ways!
How to ring a medieval doorbell. (Pull, not press, and no, they didn’t just always knock.)
Another doorbell pull (on the right.)
Entering the city of Brugge through the city gates.  Brugge used to be a walled city, and these are examples of what my main character would go through to travel outside of town, which she does later in the novel.
Windmills seen outside the city wall (if it were the 16th century that is when there was a wall)
.
Researching types of local fish that could be found in a 16th century market.
Check out the eels!
Here is a bird and rabbit market.  I could really see this in the 16th century!
More possible house locations for my main character.  (To be on the canal or to not be on the canal, that is the question…)
Above is a bed & breakfast named Bonifacius.  The proprietor was kind enough to allow me a peek inside.  It was absolutely beautiful!   The place used to be two homes, with one on the street and one on the canal, and an adjoining corridor, where I am standing here.
This is on the rooftop of the Bonifacius.  What a view!
Here is a close-up of the rooftop at the Bonifacius, made of the same tiles as many of the homes here, including the beguinage, where my main character may venture to the rooftop to observe the night sky.
Home of David De Graef again.  I love this place!
Other possible homes for my main character.
Interior of another house off the canal.  (Yes, I was peeking through a window.  A writer has to do what a writer has to do.  At least the house was empty!)
I liked the interior of this one since it had stairs from the “parlor” or main living area leading to an adjoining room, which could be the “library” or “study” for my main character’s astronomer father .(Yes, this is from more peeking in windows.)
This is the interior of that study room.
Outside of this home.  You can see that I’ve been obsessed with finding the house of my main character!
Visiting the Gruuthuse Museum, a model for a lord’s house in my novel.
Interior of the lord’s house.  So sumptuous and full of wealth!
Here is a view of the ceiling.
This is the hearth of that could be called the Great Hall, or main receiving parlor.  It was massive!
Gorgeous tapestries hanging on the walls.
Examining the tile floor.
Trying out the window seat.
The kitchen.  That spoon was heavy!
A private chapel where the lord could partake in mass at the Church of Our Lady without leaving the comfort of his own home.  Talk about the feeling of being “above” others…
This is the view inside the Church of Our Lady from the private chapel.
Here I am pretending to be my main character waiting for her canal boat.
Inspiring paintings from the Groeninge Museum.  I love the look of this girl for my main character.
You can learn so much about daily life in paintings.
What did a table of food look like?  What was hung on a wall in a home?  All can be found in paintings if you know where to look.  My zoom came in very handy.
Paintings help to remind me that Brugge was still a merchant port city, even though it was on its decline from the silting up of the river.
Possible characters?  I loved these faces!
A fellow writer from the museum that I met.  He is working on an adult mystery/thriller.  We writers must stick together!
More medieval interiors (this from a 16th century pub.  Perhaps my main character’s father frequented there?)
What a day!  More to come soon on Day Four!
0 Responses to “Day Three in Belgium”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Visit My Website

www.nicolemarieschreiber.com

"I am not at all in a humor for writing; I must write on till I am."- Jane Austen

Currently Reading

Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


