Day Six in Belgium- Part One

Welcome to Brussels in the year 1549!  This was a big day for me, so I have to divide the post up into two parts.  Here are scenes from the living history encampment on the Petit Sablon during the day.  I would have loved to take home one of the gowns, or maybe just wear one of them for the day.   🙂

The rest of the pictures portray daily life in 1549, and with many of them, I tried to compare them to paintings I saw at the Brussels Museum of Ancient Art in the morning before attending the Ommegang living history encampment.

An ironmonger (blacksmith)

A basket weaver (I thought the medieval glasses were quite unusual).

A wealthy nobleman or merchant kisses my hand.

French jousters parade on the Sablon before the tournament.

A lady of the nobility or wealthy merchant class bids me hello.

More everyday people and images of 1549.

\

 

I particularly love this last painting from the museum.  Look what I compare it to from the  living history encampment.  See you soon for Part Two of my post!

0 Responses to “Day Six in Belgium- Part One”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Visit My Website

www.nicolemarieschreiber.com

"I am not at all in a humor for writing; I must write on till I am."- Jane Austen

Currently Reading

Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


